Opinion

Nigerians

We are our own worst enemy

I cannot stand my people. They are their own worst enemy; they want and yearn for the good things in life, but yet are not prepared to work to get them. They choose their leaders haphazardly and carelessly, ending up with some of the worst people in

more
RSS

Features

On October 4, 2017, the British Prime Minister Theresa May, delivered a speech that will never be forgotten! ...Could the portion of the paper given to the Prime Minister have been soaked with something dangerous that caused her discomfort? more

17 Oct 2017 00:00 Opinion

The current NNPC debacle is probably the most embarrassing, even if mercifully, eye-opening crisis in the history of that nationally strategic institution since its creation in 1977. I seek in the following commentary to offer a number of more

10 Oct 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

A Biafra-like agitation for independence has been unfolding in neighbouring Republic of Cameroon since November 2016. The people of Northern and Southern Cameroons under the umbrella of the Southern Cameroons Ambazonia Consortium United Front more

3 Oct 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

You had boasted that you will deal with any invading force from Abuja. You also said it would be “Biafra or Death”. But when death came calling in the shape of Operation Python Dance II, your enemies insisted that you should have waited. Don’t mind more

26 Sep 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

The Nigerian military has messed up Operation Python Dance II in the South East conceptually and operationally, and the attendant arrogance does not serve the Nigerian state well. more

19 Sep 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

Mama Taraba - Senator Aisha Alhassan did something shocking and unusual in Nigerian politics during the last Eid-el-Kabir holidays. Members of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) have been on a war-path with her since then. more

12 Sep 2017 17:41 Reuben ABATI

I am no medical practitioner, but surely there must be an appropriate term for the malady that ails Dele Sobowale. How did I arrive at this conclusion? Well, anyone who has read his recent articles on the ASUU strike would think the same way. more

8 Sep 2017 00:00 Opinion

North Korea clearly has shifted from being an insignificant to a significant actor in international politics. Sanctions have clearly failed in deterring this nation from posing security threat to the world. Naturally, everyone is worried and powerful more

6 Sep 2017 00:00 Opinion

Isn't it absurd and crass irony that those destroying our nation are the same ones that lecture the poor masses to refrain from destabilizing the nation? They want the poor, common Nigerian that they have impoverished and debased to fight their war more

5 Sep 2017 00:00 Akintokunbo A ADEJUMO

The decision by the Akwa Ibom State Government to build a new Governor’s Lodge in Lagos, worth N9.1 billion or N2.1 billion, in order to have a befitting, presentational house for receiving foreign investors and diplomats at the country’s commercial more

5 Sep 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I have followed with keen interest the controversy over the announcement of cut-off marks for Nigeria’s admission processes for the 2017/2018 session, with many commentators and the general public insisting that it is unwise, insensitive and more

29 Aug 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I have just joined a group of concerned Nigerians who are planning to go to the Presidential Villa in Abuja to help sort out this issue of rats that invaded the President’s office and chased him out of his office as the BBC reported.” more

24 Aug 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

“If you are this excited about President Buhari’s return, then why didn’t you go to Abuja to welcome him when he arrived from England on Saturday.” “I didn’t have to.” “After 104 days on medical vacation in London. You should have been there to more

22 Aug 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I was really excited on Saturday when I received news of the eventual visit of President Muhammadu Buhari’s media team to him in London. I had always felt that the exclusion of the media team from the London medical vacation and the various visits more

15 Aug 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I was the reviewer of an important book on herbal healing. Herbal healing is often dismissed as a form of sorcery and in these days of obsession with Pentecostalism, many Africans still consider traditional medicine a taboo. To disprove this, a more

2 Aug 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

“You are a foolish man. You want photos of the President and his wife, sitting together in za ozza room? Candidly, tell me you are asking for photographs from the Presidential ozza room? You are sick. No President takes pictures in that other room.” more

25 Jul 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

Chi Onwurah, the Member of Parliament representing Newcastle Central in the UK House of Commons and my former colleague at the State House, Molara Wood, met recently at the 2017 Caine Prize for African Writing award ceremony. When Molara informed Chi more

11 Jul 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

The most discussed subject in Nigeria today is what is called “restructuring” and indeed so popular is this subject that it has attracted the attention of roadside commentators, the bright, the not-so-bright, the mischievous and the outrightly more

4 Jul 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

“My friend, the fasting season has ended. Stop fasting after Ramadan. I am saying something serious. Was it right for the President of Nigeria to address the Nigerian people in Hausa? “ “Hausa? Me no hear am oh. Have they changed the country’s more

27 Jun 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI