Opinion

Nigerians

We are our own worst enemy

I cannot stand my people. They are their own worst enemy; they want and yearn for the good things in life, but yet are not prepared to work to get them. They choose their leaders haphazardly and carelessly, ending up with some of the worst people in

more
RSS

Features

I have witnessed recent events and realised that there must be something wrong with 'us', or at least some of 'us' despite the Western education and the fact that we have lived in the Western world for several decades. Yet, the 'mindset' is so hard more

17 Feb 2017 00:00 Opinion

“Happy Valentine’s day, my friend” “You don’t wish someone Happy Valentine’s day with ordinary mouth, my friend” “Are you a woman? The gifts are for women, not male friends.” “You see, yourself? You are a bush man just like one of my friends who more

14 Feb 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

He has not been President of Nigeria, but he has in Kaduna the equivalent of a Presidential Library, dedicated to public service and the promotion of research and reading. Marlene and Mohammed, the two dedicated staff who currently manage the place more

7 Feb 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

Tuface’s decision to lead a protest to register the dissatisfaction of Nigerians with the performance of the incumbent administration and to reiterate the value of government’s responsibility to the people was his finest moment as a citizen and more

5 Feb 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I am not a fan of Donald Trump, the incumbent President of the United States. I didn’t stand with him. I stood with her - Hillary Clinton - in the last US Presidential election. No other election in recent American history has been more more

31 Jan 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I have very vivid memories of my last visit to The Gambia. This was in 2013 when President Goodluck Jonathan paid a two-day visit to the country. In the course of that visit, President Jonathan commissioned the new Chancery of the Nigerian Embassy more

25 Jan 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

These are the same Osun pensioners, some of whom have not had a decent meal in a long, long time; people that have not paid house rent, have not paid children’s school fees in a while; people that could not put down dowry on a second wife; more

18 Jan 2017 16:12 Michael EGBEJUMI-DAVID

“Happy New Year, my brother.” “What do you mean happy new year, more than two weeks into the New Year. Have I not been in touch with you since January 1?” “But for you the New Year has just started. Your January 1 was not on January 1.” more

17 Jan 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

Federal Airport Authority of Nigeria (FAAN). I believe everybody in that agency should be lined up and caned publicly and investigated according to the law. Should they have any stories to tell about the poor state of Nigerian airports, despite more

11 Jan 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

Nigerian politicians, unlike their counterparts in Canada and I suppose elsewhere also, do not read. They don’t do research. Nigerian legislators don’t make use of libraries either for research or for any other purpose. more

4 Jan 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I don’t like Mr. Reuben Abati. Over the past five years, I have come to view him as a rather unpleasant human being more

29 Dec 2016 00:00 Reuben ABATI

Cameroonians got their chance of introducing into the syllabus of Comedy and Other Comic Forms (a subject I taught in my other career), what seemed like a variant of the domestic nature of humour and wit, when in the last week and more days, they more

20 Dec 2016 00:00 Reuben ABATI

Raufnomics has proved to be a popular solution to the State's socio-economic problems created as a result of years of Nigeria's sole dependence on proceeds from crude oil. It has helped sustain the State even as it continues to encourage more

16 Dec 2016 00:00 Opinion

When President Yahya Jammeh of The Gambia conceded defeat after the December 1, Presidential elections in that West African country of 1.9 million people, the gesture was widely hailed and described as an indication of great hope for democracy in more

13 Dec 2016 00:00 Reuben ABATI

The rampant and open buying and selling of votes by agents of the parties, with the main offenders being the PDP that currently controls the State and the APC that is in power at the federal level. more

5 Dec 2016 00:00 Akintokunbo A ADEJUMO

The recent Governorship elections in Edo and Ondo States threw up a number of issues about the politics of succession in Nigeria. In Edo State, you would think it was the then incumbent Governor Adams Oshiomhole seeking re-election. He campaigned more

3 Dec 2016 00:00 Reuben ABATI

The death of Fidel Castro was long expected and when it finally came on Friday night, there was very little surprise across the world. He was 90, and in August, he had himself predicted that he would not live beyond 90. He had been sick for about ten more

27 Nov 2016 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I watched the United States of America election night result from the comfort of a hotel room in beautiful Mauritius. The first indication I had that things were going awry was when my woman asked me why I kept running off to the toilet at frequent more

18 Nov 2016 00:00 Michael EGBEJUMI-DAVID

The Aisha Buhari interview also fell short in this regard. She just gave the BBC Hausa service a scoop, which in my view has done more damage to her husband’s politics than good. more

16 Oct 2016 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I have heard people insist that there is some form of witchcraft at work in the country’s seat of government. I am ordinarily not a superstitious person, but working in the Villa, I eventually became convinced that there must be something more

14 Oct 2016 00:00 Reuben ABATI

Built with Metro Publisher™