Opinion

Nigerians

We are our own worst enemy

I cannot stand my people. They are their own worst enemy; they want and yearn for the good things in life, but yet are not prepared to work to get them. They choose their leaders haphazardly and carelessly, ending up with some of the worst people in

more
RSS

Features

I was really excited on Saturday when I received news of the eventual visit of President Muhammadu Buhari’s media team to him in London. I had always felt that the exclusion of the media team from the London medical vacation and the various visits more

15 Aug 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I was the reviewer of an important book on herbal healing. Herbal healing is often dismissed as a form of sorcery and in these days of obsession with Pentecostalism, many Africans still consider traditional medicine a taboo. To disprove this, a more

2 Aug 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

“You are a foolish man. You want photos of the President and his wife, sitting together in za ozza room? Candidly, tell me you are asking for photographs from the Presidential ozza room? You are sick. No President takes pictures in that other room.” more

25 Jul 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

Chi Onwurah, the Member of Parliament representing Newcastle Central in the UK House of Commons and my former colleague at the State House, Molara Wood, met recently at the 2017 Caine Prize for African Writing award ceremony. When Molara informed Chi more

11 Jul 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

The most discussed subject in Nigeria today is what is called “restructuring” and indeed so popular is this subject that it has attracted the attention of roadside commentators, the bright, the not-so-bright, the mischievous and the outrightly more

4 Jul 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

“My friend, the fasting season has ended. Stop fasting after Ramadan. I am saying something serious. Was it right for the President of Nigeria to address the Nigerian people in Hausa? “ “Hausa? Me no hear am oh. Have they changed the country’s more

27 Jun 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I attended a meeting recently at the headquarters of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board in Bwari, Abuja: the post-2017 Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination review meeting chaired by the JAMB Registrar, Professor Ish-aq Oloyede. more

20 Jun 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

Fifty years after the civil war ended, Igbos do not yet feel a sense of belonging, acceptance or safety in the Federation called Nigeria. The sad part is that this belief is shared not just by the generation that witnessed the war and its deadly more

13 Jun 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

It is sad that many Nigerians today talk glibly about the possibility of a coup or of military intervention in politics. They make it seem as if this democracy is something we can exchange for something else. We need to be reminded, as we celebrate more

30 May 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

“She spits fire, particularly if the person involved is in any way related to either the People’s Democratic Party or former President Goodluck Jonathan.” “I have just read a piece she wrote saying some politicians are now hiring marabouts, pastors more

23 May 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

The Daily Trust newspaper has published an interesting feature story (May 15), on the sudden surge in the number of First Class degrees being churned out by Nigerian universities. Daily Trust reports that its investigation reveals that in the last more

17 May 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

“E ku amojuba awon 82 Chibok girls, o” “What is that supposed to mean in plain English? You better watch your tongue. It will be politically incorrect and suicidal to start making a joke out of something that serious.” “Where is the joke?” more

10 May 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

On March 24, one Ms Taiwo Titilayo Momoh, attempted suicide at the Third Mainland Bridge, Lagos. Both the police and concerned citizens rescued her from killing herself. The said Ms Momoh was arraigned on April 21, at the Ebute Meta Chief Magistrate more

3 May 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

That is how the Nigerian Presidency works. Once you fall out of line or favour, due courtesies may not be extended to you. I was instructed on many occasions to wait until certain persons left the Villa, before issuing their sack statements. more

26 Apr 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI 1 Comments

What a relief! So, the Big Brother Naija reality television programme is finally over. It ended Sunday evening with 23-year old Efe Michael Ejemba, University of Jos graduate of Economics and singer winning the N25 million + SUV at stake, with 57.6% more

12 Apr 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

It is a sign of the times, and a tragedy that the most popular Senator in the Nigerian National Assembly at this moment is not the person who has moved the most impactful motion, not a lawmaker who has proposed a thought-provoking bill, and certainly more

5 Apr 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI

I arrived Utako Motor Park in Abuja just before 5:30 am. I wasn’t going to fly. My woman had recently come in from the UK through Lagos. A few days later, she came to Abuja. She started by road from Delta to Benin, then flew to Kaduna via more

29 Mar 2017 00:00 Michael EGBEJUMI-DAVID

I have written many times on a singularity, or perhaps we should call it a genetic aberration or bane of development and progress in our dear country – it is the inability to find the Truth; nobody speaks the Truth; nobody wants to hear the Truth. more

29 Mar 2017 00:00 Akintokunbo A ADEJUMO

I once wrote about Nigeria’s “children of anger”, but the country seems to have progressed from anger to clinical depression, resulting in a rise not merely in social aggressiveness, but a determination by certain individuals to escape from it all. more

28 Mar 2017 00:00 Reuben ABATI